Hello everyone. I've been playing for three years, but, unfortunately my teacher was kind of a bust, all he ever did was talk on about how great his band was (and they're not very good)

Anyways, I was wondering how does one get out of this phase? As in, what should I practice?
My Gear:
B.C. Rich Warlock
VOX ADT50
Digitech Death Metal
Crybaby Wah
Find new techniques (sweeping, tapping, slide guitar), experiment with new tunings, try new genres (if you normally play metal, try some jazz), and listen to a lot of new music in any genre and learn some of it and the theory behind it. Challenge yourself
Join bands, write songs.

Quote by emad
jthm_guitarist
Warned for trolling!

Quote by metal4eva_22
Didn't you say that you had a stuffed fox that you would occasionally fuck?

Quote by Axelfox
It's not a fox,it's a wolf.
Plateaus in ability don't really exist, they're simply a result of mismanaged expectations.

You haven't suddenly stopped getting better, and equally nothing's preventing you from getting better. What is happening is that you're not progressing at the rate you were expecting to, either that or there's some things in particular that you're not able to play and it's really niggling you.

Guitar is a killer for diminishing returns, the better you get at it the more work you have to put in for less gain. The first year or two you will be flying through stuff as you can cover a lot of ground with some fairly basic stuff, but when simply knowing how to do something isn't enough, when you need to start refining or even perfecting the things you do, that's when it all slows down.