Hey guys,
So i have an audition/interview for an awesome part time teaching position at a local music school coming up (a bunch of students every week, playing in a faculty combo for occasional function gigs and 3 recitals--which are recorded--each year), which I'd really like to get. I'm not really worried about the audition (im playing a tune ive known since last year, and learning a fairly easy one this week), or the interview, but I have no experience with the royal conservatory syllabus, which the school uses exclusively (as I live in the US and its not really used here), I would be teaching beginner and intermediate classical and all levels of electric guitar. Could someone who has experience with this curriculum tell me what its like, and what they have for classical guitar and jazz and rock? Like what it goes into at the various levels?
any help would be greatly appreciated.
all the best.
(insert self-aggrandizing quote here)
The Royal Conservatory syllabus has ten grades, and it is classical only.

Grade one is very elementary - simple melodies, etc. Grade six represents an intermediate player. By the time you get to grade 8, you're into pretty difficult repertoire. Grade ten is about as difficult as it gets. After grade ten, you can do your ARCT, which stands for Associate of the Royal Conservatory of Toronto.

To give you some idea, most university music programs expect at least grade eight pieces, or better. By the time you graduate a university program, you are playing grade ten pieces on a pretty regular basis.

Unfortunately, they sell their syllabus, which means they do not post it on line.

This is a grade 8 piece:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6iiVw9KSlb4

This is a grade 10 piece (don't be fooled by the first part... it's a very difficult piece)
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=4877710728748067045