About a month ago I decided to start playing guitar. Along with a Fender Telecaster, I bought a Vox AC4TV. After a week or two, I noticed an incredibly loud hiss no matter what the settings were on the amp (it was not 60 cycle hum), so I returned it. I currently have no amp and am looking to purchase one. So without further ado, here's some info.

Budget? - Under 300 would be preferable but I can go up to around $4-500.

Genres? - I play a fair amount of 90s alt rock as well as some pop punk and hardcore. Occasionally I'll mess around with post-rock stuff as well. I would like some decent cleans.

New or Used? - No preference.

Home or Gig? - Home.

Closest City? - I'm a few minutes from Buffalo, NY and an hour from Rochester.

Current Gear? - I'm using a stock '99 Fender Telecaster through an Acoustic B200 bass amp and various effects pedals I use for my bass at the moment but I'd like a dedicated guitar amp.

Edit: I've been playing bass for about 5 years now so I'm not totally new to music in general, but I'm fairly ignorant about guitar gear.
Last edited by Kusabi at Jul 30, 2011,
PLAN A:

Drive to the nearest decent music store that you'd like to start a relationship with (bring your guitar).

Repeat everything you just wrote.

Hand them your $.

PLAN B:
Same as Plan A, but drive to House of Guitars in Rochester (if you've never been there, it's TOTALLY worth the drive).

PLAN C:
Take advice from people on the Internet (who can't hear your guitar, and can't let you try out dozens of choices with your ear).

Then, buy lots of used stuff on Craigslist, hoping to get a bargain, but in the end, selling the stuff on CL (or trading it in at the store mentioned in Plan A).

(EDITED TO ADD: I'm a beginner, and I went with Plan C )
Last edited by GretschAnon at Jul 30, 2011,
For an amp for a begginer I would go for some thing quite small, simple and user friendly, but also versatile.