I recently purchased my first guitar. It is a Yamaha Pacifica 112v. I also got the a Roland Micro Cube amp.

A quick list of the amp types you can select on the Micro Cube is Acoustic, JC Clean, Black Panel, Brit Combo, Classic Stack and R-Fier. It also has delay/reverb along with various effects, gain, tone and volume knobs.

Unfortunately I am not really happy with the sound these amp types produce even after combining them with various gain and volume levels mixed in with some or no effects and it is somewhat throwing off my practicing. Classic Stack and R-Fier sort of merge together as that heavy metal distortion sound. JC Clean and Black Panel sound a little boring and Black Panel is somewhere in the middle. I am completely new to the guitar world. Trying to teach myself guitar using books, videos etc. I am a big Hendrix and Satriani fan and love the sounds they can produce but for someone with relatively inexpensive gear can I come close to reproducing these sounds?

Would the DigiTech Jimi Hendrix Experience Modelling Guitar Effect Pedal be a good place to go?

Also I have been considering the following pedals having watched demo and video reviews but considering how expensive they are I thought it best to mention it so a savvy guitar player might be able to give me some advice.

BD-2 Blues Driver
DS-1 Distortion
CS-3 Compression Sustainer
NS-2 Noise Suppressor
OD-3 Overdrive
Jim Dunlop GCB95 Original Crybaby Wah Wah Pedal

I know some of the above don't make much sense since I said I didn't much like that distortion sound but I heard mixing various pedals can produce an interesting sound.

and perhaps a volume pedal? lol :S

A final question. I have a Boss TU-3 pedal with the PSA-230es Power Supply. Do I have to purchase such a power supply for each individual pedal unit in the daisy chain?

Any response would be greatly appreciated and I apologise if some of what I wrote makes no sense. Completely new to this. Thanks in advance!