Hello all. I've been playing guitar for about 6 years now and I wanted to get into bass. I've tried out a few and found some I like but the one I really want is the Fleabass Model 32. However, I haven't been able to actually try one, and I really want to try it out before I spend my hard earned money on it. I live in North Carolina, and if anyone knew where one was in the state that I could try it would be greatly appreciated. The closest I've found is in Fairfax, Virginia, which is a good 4 and a half hours away.

Also, does anyone have any suggestions for quality basses that are cheap? ($100-$500 preferably)
Quote by Nietsche
Don't drive. Stay in doors in a padded sterilised germ free room with a strait jacket eating vitamin pills at the appropriate intervals

http://groups.ultimate-guitar.com/ipayformusic

Quote by cptcomet
Weird Kid: Do you play by ear?

Me: No, I play by hand.
Look in the FAQ at the top of the forum, its has lots of info about starter gear that you might find helpful if you want to keep your purchase cheap.

If you're willing to go used, an MIM Fender Precision or Jazz is always a good bet. If you like wafer thin necks, you can find all manner of Ibanez SR's used in your budget. Just keep an eye on craigslist and see if any good deals catch your eye.

What are you doing for an amp?
Composite Aficionado

Spector and Markbass
Im just getting a cheap bundle. I did try the amp out, it sounded pretty good for the price, and the bundle just comes with an extra stand and some accessories I dont need and there's no extra cost compared to the amp by itself, so I might as well. I do need the stand. Im just planning on playing causally so I dont need a really nice amp, just one that gets the job done.