Hi guys,

I'm the proud owner of an ibanez RG2228 8 string guitar. I typically play with this badboy through a boss-MT-2 distortion pedal which feeds directly into a yamaha recording desking and ultimately JBL speakers. I own a Marshall combo amp but it can't seem to deal with the bassyness of the 8 string.

I'm pretty much looking to get an amp that will enable me (with or without the MT-2 pedal) to have the most medal (but still crisp!) sound i can possibly get out of my guitar. Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks very much for your help guys, i'm a bit of a noob when it comes to gear

Added as suggested;

Budget? - Preferably <5k

Genres? - with this guitar, metal (ie meshuggah/opeth/decapitated)

New or Used? - either

Home or Gig? - both

Closest City? - Adelaide, Australia
Last edited by Mantra46 at Aug 5, 2011,
What's your budget?
Gear:
Ibanez GRG170DX
Peavey 6505+ Combo (60w)
Roland Cube 20w
Ibanez TS-9
Boss Chorus Ensemble CE-5
maybe a peavey 5150?
but personally i love my engl 530 preamp for this low end stuff...
Guitars/Basses:
-Ibanez SZ-520QM (D-Sonic/Air Norton)
-Ibanez RG-370
-ESP ltd B-55
Amps/Effects/Rig:
-Engl E530 + 930/60 Poweramp
-POD X3L
https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1387138

if you have big budget i'd say: the Engl invader, periphery played through it, and animals as leaders still play through it, extremely versatile, good sounding from crystal clean to the biggest most modern metal sound known to mankind. or buy a axe FX from fractal audio if you like good sounding modeling the thing sounds awesome allthough i prefer tubes.
added info on budget;

what are the advantages/disadvantages of the peavey 5150/engl 530/engl invader?

thanks guys for your help much appreciated
Under 5k? DAR Forza Quattro, if they're out yet, that is. If not, I'd get an Axe FX Ultra and a powered Atomic Cab.

EDIT: Oh, australian dollars.
Quote by Cathbard