Cabinet Distortion

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi guys,

I'm actually not a bassist, but the bassist in my band isn't really into doing gear research himself (he's a vocalist at heart).

We've got a BX4500H head and a Hartke VX410 cab, the set up sounds ok, but when we try to get it up to practice levels it starts to distort the lower notes. After looking up the specs of them I have an idea why, 450W amp 400W cab.

My question is, if our bassist were to get the VX112 cabinet and stick it in the mix, would we get less / no distortion from the cabinet? I'm a drummer/guitarist so excuse my lack of knowledge in the area seeing as guitar cabinets are usually twice the wattage of the heads, or more!

Thanks in advance.
the bx4500H is a behringer head right? if it is its probably not pushing the 450 it says it is so thats probably not your problem.
no sir away a papaya war is on
So more likely broken amp / cab? That sucks, seeeing as we have no dedicated bassist, we have no one dedicated to spending money on bass rigs.
My slightly biased view is that it's more likely a problem witht he head than the cab. Do you have a guitar head to try through the cab to check?
Quote by UraniYum
Fuck you I'm trying to be caring and shit

Quote by Cb4rabid
Okay guys, I have a confession to make. Not really a confession since it's something that's been bugging me for awhile but I've always been in denial about it.

**** you gilly, it's not what you think
About how loud are you practicing? Sounds like the amp is peaking at high volumes when you hit the low notes causing it to distort.

That's likely the problem.

Love the Low end
Less gain, more volume, then adjust gain to taste. I'm gonna guess the Hartke cab is 8 ohms which means you wouldn't be getting the "450" watts out of the Behringer head. You're probably trying to push the amp too hard.
And if you're not well... Just buy a new amp.
Basses:
Fender Precision Bass
Fender Jazz Bass