Hey guys, This is going to be a pretty big read, so if you do not generally want to help I suggest you don't bother reading this behemoth.

I've been a member here for a while (I was way more active on the forums in my earlier days) but I've come back to ask you guys for some advice.

I have been playing guitar for 6 years, and I play Technical Deathcore (think Veil of Maya, Born Of Osiris) but recently I've been thinking back over my playing and realized I am not where I think I should be after playing for 6 years, I don't consider myself a bad player as I can play about.. 6 Veil of Maya songs and 3 Born of Osiris songs (my goal is to be able to play the entire last 2 Veil of Maya Albums, all the way through) but I don't consider myself a good player. I feel like I've hit a wall, a wall where I can't get any better at my playing.

So I've decided I need to go back to the basics.. Well not go back to because honestly, I don't think I ever properly learnt the basics. I've always just wrote what sounds good, using no knowledge of music and scales and whatnot, and I feel this is where I have gone wrong. And now like I said, I've hit a wall where I can not write anything that fits into the genre of music that I want to be writing as my skill does not permit it.

So, to the actual point of this thread. Given my style of playing (out of time, technical, breakdowns) I was hoping you guys could help me put together a kind of training program? I'm sure some of you have done something similar in the past? Something I can practice x amount of times say.. 3 times a day. I want to end up with a heap of exercises I can just practice day after day until I improve, all while learning modes and scales and how they fit into the fretboard with everything else. Feel free to post links of anything you think may be useful to me. What scales should I be learning, etc.