ok, im pretty new with recording, i have an esp ltd EC 1000, line 6 spider IV with an FBV pedal, my interface is an Onyx blackjack 2x2 which is hooked to my Toshiba sattelite L655 with reaper recording software. essentially, when i play my guitar and amp live it sounds great, i can get nice tones etc. when i plug into my interface and try recording, i cant get it sounding good. the clean tones are fine, but the metal tones sound completly different and no matter what i do i cant really seem to get them to sound good. i dont know what i need to do to fix this, if the problems my interface, if i can do something on reaper.... i really dont know much about what im doing, so if anyone could help me get better sound out of this so i can record shit that actually sounds good, id really appreciate it. btw. i tend to lean for more of a swallow the sun/katatonia ish sound on my guitar.
If I stay too quiet
I can hear her walking by
Death cold air is moving
Like the touch of her hand

ikuisesti hallussa surua,
pienentynyt enkeli, ottaa minuun,
johtaa minut tämän arvokkaan valoa,
ja ikuiseen pimeyteen.
bump...?
If I stay too quiet
I can hear her walking by
Death cold air is moving
Like the touch of her hand

ikuisesti hallussa surua,
pienentynyt enkeli, ottaa minuun,
johtaa minut tämän arvokkaan valoa,
ja ikuiseen pimeyteen.
It's probably your amp, Line 6 Spiders are infamous for having a very digital tone. I would suggest recording straight into the computer (no amp), and using a VST amp simulation. It will sound A LOT better than the Spider.

UG's Official Guide To VST Amp Simulation
Call me Andrew. It's my name.

Quote by theogonia777
i fond God too, man! i sat next to him on the bus once. he told be the meaning of life and then gave me a pretzel. i can't remember what the meaning of live was, but it was a good pretzel, man!
^ No that's not strictly true, my Spider III served me well back in the day.