So, i've recently become the bassist of my band (i was the rhythm guitarist/vocalist, couldn't find a bassist, but found a rhythm guitarist). Anyways, the bass is being buried under 2 distorted guitars, so that being that, i'm after tone that cuts through, similar to what Mike Dirnt had on Dookie.

I'm currently playing with a pick on an Epi T-Bird directly into a Fender BXR300C.
What pickup blend/amp settings would help me get this tone?
Take the low end for yourself. I don't have your amp but I would just suggest counting on turning the treble down and bass up.

Pickup combinations are easy enough to try on your own, the bridge might make you "cut" better but if that fails then the neck should accentuate the low end and make what you're playing heard.

Just take some time and try stuff out though, I'm no expert but you should take the low end and use the mids to carve your tone in this setting.

Quote by emad
jthm_guitarist
Warned for trolling!

Quote by metal4eva_22
Didn't you say that you had a stuffed fox that you would occasionally fuck?

Quote by Axelfox
It's not a fox,it's a wolf.
T-Birds are renowned for being muddy sounding and having difficulty cutting through, so you would have problems there. mids are your friend for cutting through. Boost them to high heaven, and a touch of overdrive may help too.
Quote by skater dan0
Damn you and your ninja-like modding
Quote by ccannon1
...Anyways, the bass is being buried under 2 distorted guitars, so that being that, i'm after tone that cuts through, similar to what Mike Dirnt had on Dookie.

I'm currently playing with a pick on an Epi T-Bird...