Hello ultimate guitar community!

Well, I have a somewhat respectable home studio set up, and I'm starting to help some good friends produce some of their work on file in the best of my abilities. I'm a first hand musician, but producing (more so) and sound engineering are two strong hobbies of mine.
My friend is a guitar trying to get some recordings done at my place, and as his sound engineer in my lab, I have to help him with whatever sound he wants.
And I'm trying to achieve the best sound possible (as a engineer, you tend to become a perfectionist)
And the way he described the sound he wanted was "distorted (I'm ASSUMING he meant overdriven) yet clean." and with a warm sound. And after mixing in with my Peavey Valveking, Pedals, and Pod Farm 2.0 (which I despise using because of all the fake sounds it tries to emulate)
I have found potential sounds, but not really the perfect one.
And I want to know whats the best way to achieve this sound. It sound be a sound with a hint of distortion, but not enough to turn his suspended and towering chords (uses 7ths and 9ths in his progressions) to turn muddy and ruin their harmonic value.
I was thinking dual tracks (maybe one clean and overdriven), or maybe just find the sound in my pedals or amp or maybe even pod farm.
I have overdrive and distortion pedals, (pretty decent ones), and a great guitar (ESP-EC1000). What settings should I use, what kind of outline should I go about to achieve this sound, should I mic my amp (with condensers) or record through my audio interface, or should I stay with the potential sounds and tweak it in post production?
Power amp distortion. Crank the master on the valve king and mic it.