Ok I'm new to bass effect pedals and i have a few questions. First is if I get a multi effect processor, how good do the effects sound? (Could they be used in a gig?) Right now my buddy is selling a crybaby bass wah for 80 bucks which is an effect that I know I will use so should I just buy that and add on other pedals (Chorus, fuzz, etc.) or go with a multi effect? Reccomendations?
Thanks
Well, I've tried a few multi FX pedals and while they sound decent they don't quite match up to decent stompboxes.
And I don't know what a bass wah costs over there but if "80 bucks" is a fair price to you I think you should go for that and add other effects.
I can't really recommend you anything since I don't know what you will be doing with them
$80 is a little steep for a used pedal from a friend...I'd try to haggle him some or look elsewhere.
My Guitars
Squire Affinity Strat
Ibanez RG 350 DX
Fender Stratocaster MIM
Ibanez AEG20E
Tradition Guitars S2000F Pro
$80 doesn't sound too bad of a price, but honestly unless you're positive that the effect will be instrumental in your sound don't fret over it. I find VERY few times while playing where I wish I had a wah (although it is personal preference).

Regarding effect pedals:

I try to avoid multi-effects because I feel that analog, single effects units are of higher quality and less prone to being disappointing. However, a lot of bassists are very content with them, so if you test out a particular multi-effects unit that you enjoy go for it! Most of the time they're priced fairly.

As far as "introductory" effects pedals for bassists, I think that the Boss Bass Chorus is a fantastic place to start. Flexible, very applicable for any genre, and has a great cost. I use mine a ton.

MusicMan SUB4
OLP MM2

Gallien-Krueger 1001RB-II / RBH410 x2
Trace Elliot SMX Dual Compressor
Boss CEB-3 Bass Chorus
ZVex Wooly Mammoth Fuzz