So, for the first time in my years of playing, I am starting to use a lot of alternative tunings. My pedal unit is the floor pod plus. It has a built in tuner. But, I find that if I go from, say, standard tuning, to drop C, I can't just go through the 6 strings 1 time. I have to do them all over an over. When I do the 6 string it gets nailed on C. Then the 5 on F and the 4 on C, etc. but when I'm done, I have to go back up and start over as the 6 string is no longer on C, it's usually somewhere around D or Db. After the painful loop through the strings 4 or 5 times, they are where they are supposed to be.

Is the tuner on this unit just not smart enough to handle this? Is a chromatic tuner the answer? And, stupid question for a 25 year guitar player, how does a chromatic tuner differ from any other.

Thanks guys!
Hey I have some experience with the Floor Pod tuners but I own the plain old Floor Pod.
First of all a Chromatic Tuner can tune to any one of the 12 semitones in an octave (i.e. A Bb B C C# etc.) while a non-chromatic tuner is restricted to certain pitches (i.e. the pitches of the strings in standard) On my Floor POD the Tuner is chromatic and I'd be extremely surprised if the floor POD plus isn't chromatic seeing as I've never seen any Floor POD series unit (I've played some of the higher end ones as well) without a chromatic tuner.

Anyways, I also use quite a few alternative tunings (i.e. Standard, Drop tunings down to B, and Open Tunings) and I've personally never had that problem (and I'm currently using it with a cheap squier strat) Tuning it once outs it quite nicely in tune. THough it might lack the precision for studio use, it's been quite reliable for jamming and the few performances I;ve used it.