Hey all,
Well I've been playing for over three years and now that ive got reasonably decent gear and skill, I want to start recording some stuff. I've done some reading, specifically the Tone Testing Thread V.3 and will probably have to end up reading it at least once more.

Anyways, I'm wondering what equipment is good? What will I need? What software? I'm looking to record myself playing the electric and acoustic electric 12 string guitar (though I have no acoustic amp, if that matters) and maybe some vocals. Different mics for each?

The kind of equipment I'm looking for is the "best for the money" kind of gear. The Epiphone Elitists, not the Gibson Custom Shops. Preferably new. It doesn't have to be the best, just a decent quality for myself, friends, and family. I have access to Macs, but no PC's so any software will have to be for the Mac.

Your help is really appreciated. Thanks.
-Van

I also have a Line 6 Pod 2.0 that I'm on the verge of selling, I know it's a DSP and those can be used to record, but I'm not really crazy about the tone, should I keep it and play the EQ/ settings some more or just get rid of it and get a better DSP/ Mics, software?
Better, Faster, Stronger

Kansas City Chiefs

Kansas State Wildcats
Quote by airbrendie
Hey guys in the last 3 weeks I ****ed all the girls in this picture, what do you think?

Last edited by VanTheKraut at Aug 10, 2011,
For mics id pick up a dynamic for close micing, a pencil condensor and a large diagpraphm condenser. You can blend them and its a pretty versatile setup.

What mic to chose is a matter of taste, heres a few ideas.

For dynamics
Shure SM57
Shure Uniydne 545 III
Audix I5
Sennheiser E609

Pencil condensor
Rode M3
Akg Perception 170

Large Condenser
Rode NT1a / NT2
MXL V67i

Youre gunna need a few stands, xlr cables and a pop screen dont forget.