I've been playing guitar for around 7 years, though only seriously for about 4 and i've come to realise that on fast downpicked riffs I pick from the elbow. I know. I'm fine alternate picking.

Anyway, I tried to relearn downpicking and it's so hard after 4 years of bad technique, does anyone have any tips for speeding up the process of changing my picking technique completely?
Quote by whoomit
smoke weed chill an watvch rugrats errday
I've been told it takes 21 days to unlearn a habit. It may take more than that because like you have said it's been years with a bad habit. Only thing i can advise is to force yourself not to ever go back into that habit again. Even if you have to play 1/4 of your normal speed to break the habit. That would be the fastest way IMO.

Hope this helps.
Thanks I've been thinking of doing this but i'm in a band so being shit at picking again isn't going to be fun:L ah well, it needs to be done
Quote by whoomit
smoke weed chill an watvch rugrats errday
I tend to rest my hand on the bridge when I play so the elbow is really a non-issue. Maybe you could give that a try, but it depends on which guitar you have.
Quote by Jettski1
I tend to rest my hand on the bridge when I play so the elbow is really a non-issue. Maybe you could give that a try, but it depends on which guitar you have.

You could do this...but watch out that you're not putting pressure down or "holding on" to the bridge because this will restrict your movement and cause muscle tension (which you don't want- among other reasons, it's more effort to tense up than to stay relaxed).
Seems somewhat unorthodox (and embarrassing), but playing Guitar Hero a lot for a while helped my downpicking a lot when I was younger. If you strum most stuff with just your thumb, your hand gets used to the motion and your wrist adapts to it.