Hey guys, I thought it would be fun to make a little shootout between my primary mics I use in my "studio." I'm going to warn you that I'm not an experienced engineer, I'm a 20 year old college student with a fascination for mics and preamps but I do know what I'm doing. I also can't afford high end equipment, so the mics I have are pretty cheap. These mics won't sound as good as your Nuemann's but I think I'm doing okay with them.

I would like to hear what you all think. Every track was made with the mic pointing at the body/neck joint about 8 inches out. There's no editing on the tracks except a teeny bit of a volume boost to make it audible (is that even editing?) but no compression, reverb, anything of that nature.

With that disclaimer out of the way, here's the dirt:

The first mic is the classic Shure SM57, commonly used on electric guitars and snares and only spottily seen on the acoustic guitar. Tied for the most expensive at $100USD.

The next mic is basically unknown but at a recommendation from a friend I picked it up. The Golden Age Project FC1 mk.ii is a large diaphragm condenser microphone designed by a company somewhere in Sweden(I may be wrong about that) but produced in China. I use it on every vocal track in addition to distant takes on amps and orchestral instruments. It's by far the most used of my collection.Tied for the most expensive at $100.

The last mic is even less known. The Golden Age Project FC4 is Golden Age's small diaphragm condenser mic. I was so pleased with the FC1 that when I needed a pair of SDs I looked to Golden Age. These are the cheapest at $75 a piece or $150 for the matched pair.

All mics > Presonus Firestudio >iMac

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vPmptUZUZjI
Watching in HD will probably yield the best quality (seeing as it's youtube). If anyone really wants the AIFFs I can get them to you somehow.

EDIT:
There are also stereo matches at the end just fyi.
Winner of the 2011 Virginia Guitar Festival

Protools HD