I've been playing the guitar for 3 years now , and its time for a tube amp head purchase...
I'm looking for an amp with a warm , classic heavy / thrash metal OD . Don't care much about the clean , but I would prefer it having an OD channel and a clean channel.
My budget is max. 1000$ . I would prefer something rather small , 20 - 40w range , for practice , recording and small gigs .
Bare in mind , please , that I'm from Europe , so we don't have that many models or brands like in the U.S.
Thank you...
You might look for something from Blackstar, Marshall, Peavey, or maybe Randall.
NOW PART OF THE

Quote by Robchappers
You are epic my friend ;-)
Quote by RU Experienced?
At this point I'd be more surprised if you found me a Christian children's entertainer that didn't sodomize and eat kids.
Laney, Marshall, Orange are all good choices (used of course)...where in Europe are you?

Going by your username, is it Finland?
Gibson Les Paul Studio
Highway One Telecaster
Dean Evo
Mesa F-50
Laney GH50L
Vox AC30 C2
Ampeg V2
pedals
Not as many models as the US? Blah. You guys have some of the greatest amp brands that guys in the US would die for.

I'd check out some :

ENGLs like the Screamer, Thunder, or Gigmaster
Blackstar HT-5 to the HT-40
Blackstar Series 1 50 or Artisan 15 ( prolly used to reach your pricepoint )
Bugera, if you can take the hate. They're great for their price.
Orange Rockerverbs / Thunderverbs if you can find them used. ( not sure of price )

or some

Laneys, Marshalls, and some Peavey, but I'm not really knowledgeable about them.

Remember to try them 1st as much as possible. Most of what I mentioned sound ENTIRELY different from each other. If you can't try them, find some playthroughs in sites like youtube.
Heh , I'm from Romania , not Finland . Marshalls at this price range here in Europe are crap...A JVM400 or a JCM 800 here cost almost 2000 $ ...