I just picked out a damien elite 7 today and the first thing i noticed was the bridge pickup was super close to the strings. I started playing it and it sounded kinda saturated or muddy through that pickup. I think it might have something to do with the height of the pickup. Can someone give me an explanation of how to find the right height both on the bridge and neck pickups?
Schecter Damien Elite Avenger FR
Schecter Damien Elite 7
Schecter Damien Elite
Epiphone Les Paul
Fender Stratocaster Fretless
Samick Dreadnaught Acoustic (Unknown Model)
Various Marshall Amplifiers
Boss SD-1
Boss CS-3
There is no "right" height for a pickup, keep tweeking till you find a spot that sounds good.

Neck pickup usually is lower than the bridge.
Stuff:
ESP/LTD EC-200QM (with SD Distortions)
1986 Charvel Model 4
2013 Ibanez RG7421WH

Amps
Marshall MS-2 microamp (a POS)
B-52 LG-100a head (Not bad)

Pedals
Digitech Grunge distortion
Just to improve your understanding, google how pickups work.

Essentially, they create a magnetic field that radiate's out in concentric circles. Think an Archery target.

When you hit the string (which is obviously metal) it 'cuts' in to this field, and alters its output. this is why you can never get 100% noise free pickups, as they're always 'broadcasting'

The closer the pick up is to the strings, the more the strings will 'cut' the magnetic field, and a larger or more intense signal will be sent, lower will mean a less intense signal will be sent.

I know there's some average terminology in there, but as learningplayer said, just have a play around with the heights, and you should be right.

There's also nothing wrong with having the pickup off level (IE closer at one end, further at other). If it gets the sound your after, do it.

Hope that helps.

Cheers

Chris
You gotta figure it out for yourself, but heres some tips for you.
1. You should be able to strum hard and not hit the pickups
2. the pickup should be slightly higher near the high E string.