So, I bought my first electric guitar about 3 weeks ago, and I was wondering how much can I change the guitars sound.
The guitar I have is a Schecter Blackjack ATX C-1; it uses seymour duncan active pickups (humbuckers).

I also have 2 volume controls and a tone control.

My question is: how much does the amp change the guitars sound (I have a very simple one actually...and it's 30+ years old; and not meant to amp a guitar); and how much is the importance of pedals/effects?
The tone can really change the sound or just make it more "brilliant" or dark?

I also tought the limitation of the sound types I can get is due to the fact I'm new to the electric guitar world and don't really know how to use the tone control properly...

Hope that made some sence, and sorry for my bad english

Thanks in advance

EDIT: I forgot...I guess it's the case i get a new amp, any suggestions for a 200 euro one?
Last edited by Michele_R at Aug 13, 2011,
The biggest part of what makes your tone actually comes from your amp. The tone and volume knobs on your guitar for example only refine it.

Getting a great tone from your instrument takes experience, but experience alone won't cut it if you are using something that is not even meant to amp a guitar.
well how do you want to change the sound?

with just an amp and the guitar you can mostly just change the eq or add more gain to add distortion(depends on the amp) and just change your playinng style
with effect pedals you can do many things to chnage it
The amp will make up most of your tone. Playing something that's not designed for guitar is unlikely to sound good.

As for amp recommendations, judging by your guitar, I assume you want to play metal, so maybe a Peavey Viper? Or a Roland Cube. Both are modelling amps but they should do what you want. And you can always experiment with other genres too, should you so wish.
RIP Adam
Last edited by SexyLikeAPig at Aug 13, 2011,