I've been writing 'lyrics' for about 2 years.
I know that's not long, but i just feel that i haven't really progressed.
When i say lyrics i don't mean poems that you conventionaly see on here.
I could never write like most of the other people on this forum.
90% of the time i don't even know how to read what they write. And when i can it blows my mind. I'm not much of a 'poetry' person i guess.
But i write 'lyrics' to songs with music. I want to get 'better' at writing lyrics.
Any links or just your thoughts on how progression came for you or anything would be much appreciated.
Last edited by guitartaber93 at Aug 14, 2011,
if u ask me you don't have to think to hard about the best songs. it just depends on the style of the song. some shit could be deep other shit doesn't even have to make sense or you could just honestly say what everyone is already thinking. music is music. screw the words it just has to sound good
I respect your opinion. But i disagree with you. Lyrics play a major role in the realm of music.
Take drugs. They make you more creative, and there are no downsides.
Seriously, my best lyrics come from when I write the music, melody, and words all at once. You can't force it, but if you are patient, it will happen. When I try to write lyrics AFTER I've already written the music, they sound forced and it's as if I'm just finding words that fit to the music. Listen to my song "What You've Sown" (click on my sig). I wrote the words first and the music just seemed to come to me.
Do you still have the lyrics written down from your earliest songs? Maybe you are getting better but you don't notice it. Maybe if you look at the earlier ones you'll see how much better your newer ones actually are. I know it showed me my improvement.