Fractal Audio: AxeFX 2
Engl: Fireball 60
Zilla: Fatboy 2x12
Carvin: DC700
Carvin: Vader 7
Schecter: KM-7 MKii
Schecter: Banshee 8 Passive
Jackson: DK2M
With so much free information on the internet these days it's fine. I have never taken any formal lessons but due to using the internet and even this website I am far from self taught.
There are a couple of reasons but there's nothing that can't be mitigated by a good self-awareness and motivation.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
While you can certainly get by without any formal lessons (and tons of great musicians have), there are benefits to having an actual teacher.

While there are tons of videos and lessons on the internet, a teacher will help guide you towards your goal and respond to your individual needs.

A teacher will also be able to notice anything you are doing incorrectly (how you are holding your guitar, your wrist position, your picking technique, etc) and help you fix your problems. Countless guitarists learn to do things poorly and have terrible technique without realizing it, and because they have nobody to correct them they can cause themselves permanent damage.

Finally, it depends on who you are, but many people will find a teacher to be good motivation. If your teacher gives you something to learn, you will most likely work hard at learning it in time for your next lesson. If you're showing enough incentive to learn your instrument,(and your teacher is good) you will be willing to put in the time and effort.