Could someone advice me, since I'm new to Marshall Amps, is the only way to get overdrive out of a plexi amp is to crank up the volume way loud? There's no master volume knob or anything?
Thanks!
Yup.

turn it up to incredibly antisocial, ear-splitting volumes.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
Im saving up for a plexi and this is my worry as well.

I would guess though, that there are ways to make it easier to manage. you could mod in a half power switch to help it break up a bit earlier, add in a master volume or, if it has an effects loop plug in a volume pot there to control it like a master volume (it will be preamp distortion and not the same but I think if you blended it well as a mix of output volume and preamp volume it might still sound close at a slightly lower volume)

and of course an attenuator. at least thats what I plan to try when I get one. let me know how you get it to sound at not head exploding volume, because im kinda torn between the plexi and a vintage modern myself. But truth be told, I crave that awesome plexi crunch.lol.
Gear:

Jackson dk2m
MIM strat
peavey jsx 2x12 combo
Recording King RDC-26
Digitch RP1000
Crybaby 535Q
You could do what Yngwie does and use a DOD 250 in front of the Plexi to hit the preamp a little harder. Might be worth trying.
My name is Tom, feel free to use it.
1 attenuator
2 very high output pickups or a boost/OD pedal

If it's that much of a concern to you then it might be better if you just suck it up and buy a slightly more modern style of amp that at least has gain and volume controls, if not a second channel.
A half power switch won't help much, ever even tried to overdrive a 50W amp?
For home use even 5W is too much to crank.
You should better get something with a master volume and a gain knob.