I have a Fender 15G Amp that I am having problems with after a little accident. While I was playing a heavy object fell on the input jack of the amp. Ever since, it hasn't worked and gave off a hum.

I thought maybe something was wrong with the input jack so I bought a new one and replaced it. Took the old one out and soldered the new one in but it still has a hum and gets no signal from the guitar. I noticed the fuse was blown and got a new one and installed, still the same hum. I did notice a slight electronic getting hot smell after I put the new fuse in.

Any idea on what would be causing the problem? I do have a multimeter that I was probing on the board with, but I just got it a month ago and I'm relatively new to repairing circuit boards. Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.
Rest in Peace
Dimebag Darrell
Last edited by biglou250 at Aug 15, 2011,
If it's under warranty, see about getting it replaced. If not, you might as well buy a new amp. You can probably find a similar or slightly better quality amp for $100 on Kijiji or Craigslist. You'll probably pay that in parts and labour for a repair.
Fender American Vintage '62 Stratocaster
Gibson Les Paul Custom
TC Electronic Polytune
Danelectro Blue Paisley
EHX Big Muff Pi w/ Tone Wicker
Dunlop Crybaby
EHX Deluxe Memory Boy
Egnater Tweaker

Quote by Jackal58
Yer pretty fly for a Canadian.
Yeah, I know these amp are cheap. I got this one for $60 bucks about 5 years ago.

I was hoping though, that it may be an easy fix. Labor will all be done by me if/when I find the problem and the parts are cheap enough.
Rest in Peace
Dimebag Darrell
any chance of pictures of top and bottom of the pcb?

EDIT: you may have damaged the traces on the input jack bit of the pcb, and the hum is because you have an open circuit (like having a lead plugged in at the amp and not at the guitar)
Epiphone Les Paul Plus Top
Jet City JCA5212RC (SLO Modded)
Ibanez WD7 Wah
Mad Professor Sweet Honey Overdrive