Hello,

I'm planning to make a DOD 250 Overdrive and according to the schematics I need a 25pF capacitor, however I cannot find one online. What could I use instead? And what effect would it have?

Yeah, now you're gonna die wearing that stupid little hat. How does it feel?

Help me to live.

I make custom guitar wiring harnesses and I'm pretty damn good at it!
Last edited by flyingmarlin at Aug 16, 2011,
Quote by Mathamology
If you can find a number of capacitors that would equate to the same value (for example, a 20pF and a 5pF) you can achieve 25pF by running them in parallel.

This is what I was originally thinking, I'm a noob when it comes to electronics haha! I'll try this out. Thanks a lot for you help, very much appreciated!

Help me to live.

Mouser and Digikey not have them? They should have everything =/
Then there's this band called Slice The Cake...

Bunch of faggots putting random riffs together and calling it "progressive" deathcore.
Stupid name.
Probably picked "for teh lulz"

Mod in UG's Official Gain Whores
From what I can see cap C5 (25pf) in combination with the 1M resistor in parallel across the op-amp provides a low pass response. The cutoff frequency is approx 6.4Khz. This is by f(low pass) = 1 / (2 x pi x R x C)

Changing the cap will change the frequency at which the low pass reponse will begin to roll off using the above formula. So this will affect what you hear mainly in the tone of the guitar.

If you use a larger value cap the cutoff freq will be less than 6.4KHz (more 'bassy'). If you use a smaller value cap the low pass rolloff freq will be higher than 6.4KHz (more treble).

The op amp as a whole is set up as a bandpass filter with a max gain of about 200 when the 500k pot is set to minimum position which effectively produces the distortion.

That's how I read it.