Hi all,I bought a Ibanez RG 170R for a ridiculously low price and now intend to upgrade it.

I've decided I want to put a floyd rose of some sort in it, but I've got no experience with them whatsoever. Can anyone recommend or give me some pointers as to which one to choose?

Thanks in advance.
Watch my covers please!

http://www.youtube.com/user/IcarusLivesss

Gear
Schecter Blackjack ATX C-1 w/Seymour Duncan Blackouts
American Fender Stratocaster
Amps
Carlsbro GLX 150 Amp head/Carlsbro 1x12" Cab
Vox VT50
Sell it. FRes suck. And if you're unlucky, your body isn't routed for a FR meaning you'll have to do that yourself =S
Quote by Anchr
Sell it. FRes suck. And if you're unlucky, your body isn't routed for a FR meaning you'll have to do that yourself =S

Don't listen to this retard.

If you wan't a floyd go for it, if it's not routed, you'll be paying for that as well as the floyd and seeing as you'd want a good floyd you're looking at around 250 for all of it.
ಠ_ಠ
- Yes, My name is actually Terran -
- Not just a Starcraft fan -

Terran > Zerg and Protoss
What he said. Although if I had to route it and all I wouldn't bother. It'd probably cost more than the guitar to have done unless you did it all yourself. Floyd's are great when you know how to maintain and set them up. Usually the people that complain about how terrible they are, are the ones that eff them up not knowing how to mess with them.
It seems that this model isn't routed for a Floyd Rose. You'll have to reroute the thing yourself (very difficult if you don't have experience and the proper tools) or pay to have it done by a professional (expensive). For that guitar it's not worth the trouble/cost, in my opinion.
Dear God, do you actually answer prayers?

Yes, but only in a way indistinguishable from random luck or the result of your own efforts.
make sure you get an original floyd rose or OFR, they are far superior to the other floyd roses available
My Gear:
BC Rich Gunslinger Retro Blade