I've been playing on and off for twenty years. When I say on and off, I mean I play for six months and then give up for a year when I reach the same plateau. After twenty years I suck! It's mainly down to lack of finger strength.

My fingers have no independence at all. When attempting to try Freepower's exercise (one at a time then relax) the other three fingers jump about all over the place and I have to try un-naturally hard to keep them near the fretboard.

Then there is the main weakness, my pinky. I can only do pull-offs with my pinky onto my ring finger on the first string as I have a huge gap of space for my finger to fly downwards into. Move onto the second string? Forget it. There is either no sound at all as my pinky weakly lifts off....or if I do manage to pluck the string (by putting ALL of my strength into it) the note I'm descending to stops dead.
How can I be so bad after playing for so long? The same thing happens with my second and third fingers. Not so bad with my index and middle as I can anchor strongly with my index finger. I believe that my fingers are too retarded to let me play guitar. Does anybody else feel like this?
Jackson PDX Demmelition w/ EMG 81/85
Vintage Lemon Drop w/ Seymour Duncan JB/Jazz
Dean Z Bubinga w/ Seymour Duncan Blackouts

Blackstar HT-5 combo
Last edited by Rargh at Aug 17, 2011,
You're pinky is weak so you never use it.

You never use your pinky so it is weak.

Both are true, what do you reckon the solution is?

x
Fender Geddy Lee Jazz
Warwick Corvette $$
Rockbass Streamer Fretless
Hartke HA5000
SWR Triad

Quote by Victory2134
I happen to enjoy every mankiss from shinhoman.
Never give up, instead train your fingers.

You can do that by placing your index finger on a random fret, and than hammer on and pull off with your middel finger on the fret next to it, than place your middel finger on that fret and do the same with your ringer, and than your pinky.
Quote by shinhoman
You're pinky is weak so you never use it.