Hi

I'm looking for my first amp (I currently play classical, but want an electric, I'll be playing everything up to hard rock, and maybe a tiny amount of metal, not a priority though)
I'v been looking at a Fender Pro Junior, and in all the videos it sounds great, and I should be able to afford it- but that's where I get confused, I don't know a great deal about amps, all I know is that this one sounds nice, is a tube, and can be loud.
I will only really be playing in my bedroom though, so all that volume isn't necessary- in fact, I don't really want it, but I'v heard that at low volume, it's all clean, with no distortion- and if I didn't want distortion, I wouldn't be buying an electric!
Is this the case with all amps- you only get distortion or overdrive (Is there a difference? I'm a noob...) at high volume, and at the low volume I will be playing, it will be all clean?

I know I probably sound like an idiot- but can someone please explain to me about how all this works?

Also, if anyone has a decent tube amp that cost about £300 or under, what is it, and can I play it quietly, with distortion?

Thanks
If you want good distortion at low volumes, you might want to go look at some solid state amps instead. Most tube amps will need you to crank it up to get a good distorted sound.
Just after posting this, I heard about the Vox AC4TV, it's allot quiter, and can be played at 0.25w!
Going up to 4, this seems like it will do the job better, and it's cheaper!
Quote by Honkern
If you want good distortion at low volumes, you might want to go look at some solid state amps instead. Most tube amps will need you to crank it up to get a good distorted sound.