This was never a real ambition of mine, but as my playing improves I'm starting to get the itch. I started playing because my weekend athletic career is winding down as my body breaks down and I need a new hobby/passion/outlet/activity to ease the transition of that part of my life ending. Lets just say my oh my do I love playing guitar and jamming. I'm not good yet, but I picking it up very quickly and have been told over and over again I'm very good for the amount of time Ive been playing. Dare I say Im showing a bit of talent? Call it dedication and love for now...

I have some good equip because I have a good job (being a corporate lackey has its perks). I play through a Fender Blues deluxe tube amp w/ a 40w speaker. I got the house to myself. I have a couple beers, smoke a little weed and plug my Paul in. This amp is sickly loud, but I'm determined to push it a bit. Just over 2 is jamming volume. 3 is we are all drunk and lets piss off the neighbors volume. So I start moving it up. I got as far as 5 (I had cotton in my ears). At this volume I can feel every note physically move through my body its so loud and let me just say what a rush. In that moment I understood how exhilarating it must be to play music live and put that sound out there....

So my question(s) are pretty simple? Do most people just play because its so much fun? If you play live how did you start? What kind of venues? Not so concerned about making cash... just the performing aspect.
he of tranquil mind