I've been ****ing around with my guitar and occasionally I'll come across a little riff that I love. I've only recently started using scales as a base to my riffs, instead of only using the notes in the scale. Not sure if this is a good idea but it's allowed me to come up with some riffs I really love. Such as the following:

Up by the 8th fret (with the first major scale shape)
C E A E
D F A>A#<A F

Now my knowledge of music theory is sketchy at best but I'd assume that this was a riff based on the C major scale. Yet I'm also pretty sure it isn't as it sounds pretty depressing when played slowly. I'm at a loss of what chords I could use.

Sorry if this post looks like nonsense or is in the wrong forum section, it's been a while since I played and I've never used these forums before. Danke.
Quote by arsehead
I've been ****ing around with my guitar and occasionally I'll come across a little riff that I love. I've only recently started using scales as a base to my riffs, instead of only using the notes in the scale. Not sure if this is a good idea but it's allowed me to come up with some riffs I really love. Such as the following:

Up by the 8th fret (with the first major scale shape)
C E A E
D F A>A#<A F

Now my knowledge of music theory is sketchy at best but I'd assume that this was a riff based on the C major scale. Yet I'm also pretty sure it isn't as it sounds pretty depressing when played slowly. I'm at a loss of what chords I could use.

Sorry if this post looks like nonsense or is in the wrong forum section, it's been a while since I played and I've never used these forums before. Danke.

A C E are the notes of an A Minor Chord

A Minor is the parallel minor of C Major.

So yes in a way you are playing in C Major, in the sense that you are using the same notes.

The chords you can use are:
C Major, Dm, Em , F Major, G Major, Am, B Diminished.
Last edited by SumFX at Aug 19, 2011,