Hey, I'm getting more and more into theory, I've been playing for 6 yrs and I taught myself everything I know. I'm not sure but I think I know pretty much every key of the Pentatonic. I know the Major and Dorian scale but only in the key of E. My question is, I know Jimi wasn't big on modes, so how do alot of his solos sound completely different from one another? When I try to improvise with just the pentatonic it all sounds like the same patterns just in different keys. (BTW I just learned the Major and Dorian, so I'm not sure how to work those into my solos just yet) Any help would appreciated. Thanks.
Learn how to use the modes, eg. using a D Dorian over a C major Chord progression. Also, learn the other modes
Quote by rockstar2be
Learn how to use the modes, eg. using a D Dorian over a C major Chord progression. Also, learn the other modes

TS, learn the major and minor scales. In blues it's common to mix the major and minor blues scales. Learn some Hendrix solos and see how he keeps variety.
Last edited by griffRG7321 at Aug 20, 2011,
Try modal substitution. Find out where all the modes are and replace them with the major and minor pentatonics. Look it up though to find out which scale replaces each mode. You cant just change any of them.
Eg, aeolian becomes minor pentatonic along with dorian and mixolidian and ionian become major pentatonics. XD

Carvin 112
Jackson R1T Matt Tuck
Dean VMNT Dave Mustaine
Vox tonelab LE
Quote by griffRG7321

TS, learn the major and minor scales. In blues it's common to mix the major and minor blues scales. Learn some Hendrix solos and see how he keeps variety.

Learn some? I know pretty much all of em (a few exceptions) even alot of his concert solos i learned.
Quote by TANG0DOWN21
Learn some? I know pretty much all of em (a few exceptions) even alot of his concert solos i learned.

Then you're pretty much set. Sorry to say, there's no other scale that will make you sound like him.
What Jesse said.