I'm new to guitars in general, and electric guitars.
I'v recently made a deal with a friend though- he has a broken Squire Cyclone, with an amp and cable, that I can have for a while, if I fix it.
Currently, it's problems (due to his brother borrowing it) are:

1. Volume knob turns way to far, and guitar makes no noise- I reckon this will be an easy fix, just take of knob, make sure everything's connected, or maybe buy new knob (do they take the same kind as a Stratocaster, if not, what can I use?)

2. The cable going to the amp (don't know the name) won't plug in to the guitar very well, seems like something has bent or broken, I reckon I will need to replace the plug in the guitar- but this is where I'm having problems. I can probably get it out okay, but I don't know where to look, or what to look for as a replacement, any help would be much appreciated!

If any one has any suggestions to help with the project in other ways, I'd like to here them too- I'v got a soldering gun, and screwdrivers etc, and a freinds who's quite savvy with electronics, so I should be fine for the labor.

Thanks
no offence dude, but if you don't know much about guitars and the like, maybe you're not the one who should be trying to fix it..
PRS SE Torero | Fender MIM Tele | Jackson RR3

Bugera TriRec Infinium | Randall RH50T

Marshall 1960AV

Soundcloud
Band Facebook

Quote by emad
jthm_guitarist
Warned for trolling!

Quote by metal4eva_22
Didn't you say that you had a stuffed fox that you would occasionally fuck?

Quote by Axelfox
It's not a fox,it's a wolf.
Thanks, will it just be a matter of removing the old ones and soldering these ones in?
Last edited by Evilllamas at Aug 20, 2011,