Hi, everybody.

I'll try to keep this as succinct as I can, since the issue could be made out to be rather lengthy.

First off, I'm a guitarist of about 1 1/2 years (6 if you don't count the years I didn't start taking music seriously). In that roughly 1 1/2 - 2 year span, it hasn't been uncommon for me to spend 7-8 hours every free day I had grinding theory and applying it as best I could. In light of this, I feel I've come an extraordinarily long way. I have reasonable command over a number of scales and their modes, my chord vocabulary is extensive thanks to a recent infatuation with jazz, etc. But there's one thing I feel I'm missing, the very second I pick the 'tar up and try to write a song of my own: confidence in my songwriting ability. Let me explain this a bit.

When I say confidence, I mean it in such a way that I feel that I never really learned how to write a song, or how to make one functional, so to speak. Being entirely self-taught, I've never had a mentor to ask these questions. I keep asking myself if my tribulations are reasonable and I'm just expecting too much of myself, or if I'm really just behind the musical 8-ball.

When I try to write songs, I notice I come up with licks or phrases I REALLY dig, but from there, I feel I have no idea how to connect that phrase to another part of the song cohesively. I find myself sometimes just coming up with three separate phrases and trying to tie them together, rather than composing a song from the bottom up. I honestly don't know if this is normal or not. Should songwriting ideally be 1-2-3-4-5? Or is it pretty typical to try to tie in separate licks, as in, say, 1-3-4-2-5?