Hello all,

I am new to playing the guitar, I've only been playing for about a month or so. I play an acoustic guitar (Takamine EG340C). I've been searching around the interwebs and browsing different forums about what is the best thickness for a pick to use. All I've really found is "ONLY USE THICK PICKS" and when others question as to why, or say they use thin/mediums the response is "YOU ARE STUPID THICK PICKS ARE THE BEST". There is no real reasoning behind the choice of a thick pick, it is just given as an accepted standard. Now, I realize that if the majority of an experienced audience uses thick picks, that it probably is the best pick size to use.

My question is, why?

I bought Fender thick, medium and thin picks to use. For most of my playing, I find that I enjoy the medium picks the best (no real reason, it just feels the best). However, for one song that I'm learning (Little Lion Man, Mumford + Sons) I found that I really like the sound of the thin pick the best, which really goes against the grain.

Any tips, advice, and reasoning would be greatly appreciated. I'd also appreciate if you could give me something to look out for, i.e. use a thin pick playing this chord, then medium and then heavy, and look out for THIS so you can see the difference.

Thanks!
I find it easier to strum when I use thin picks. I like them thin enough to bend easily with my finger but thick enough to produce a fill sound. I use either Fender thin or dunlop nylon .60 mm usually
I use thick picks because I think they're more comfortable and I don't like the sound of the pick hitting the strings that much.

P.S, I use very thick picks, Dunlop Big Stubbys, 3.0mm.
The reason people say use a thick pick for shredding is because there's less give and you don't have to move it as much. The reason people say use a thin pick for chords is because you can strum better because it has lots of give and makes strumming easier.

It doesn't really matter though.