Hi, I'm a beginner/intermediate level guitarist of a few years experience with no band experience.
I'm looking to start or join a band (living in Germany currently, if you've any suggestions:P), and wondering what you, UG, think a guitarist should know on his axe before he ventures into this foray.
(I play rock 'n roll, not much metal, and whatever catchy acoustic/classical pieces I find challenging/interesting enough.)
i guess it kind of a guitarist taboo if you dont know Iron Man
Roses are red
Voilets are blue
The only bulge in my pocket is my wallet
No i'm not happy to see you
Just learn songs you actually like. It doesn't matter what songs other people know, if we all learnt all the same songs things would be extremely boring.
Gibson LP Traditional, LP GT, LP Studio, SG Standard x2
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm >TC Polytune > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
EVH 5150 III LBXII
Jet City JCA22H
My SoundCloud

incoming list of generic overplayed songs...

Just learn songs you like in your skill level bro

edit: ROFL at how ****ing massive the image is, WIN
the songs they want to know
MY Music
AMPS:
Chute CC-04 2x12
GUITARS:
Fender American Deluxe Strat SSS (with DG-20's)
Martin Dx-1
PEDALS:
Big Muff Pi Tone Wicker
Keeley Mod Bluesdriver
Holy Grail Plus Reverb
MXR Carbon Copy Delay
Boss RC-2 Loop pedal
there are none, I cant play any of the stereotypical rock or metal songs, infact some like stairway or sweet child i refuse to learn
My Gear:
BC Rich Gunslinger Retro Blade
Vintage V100 Paradise + SD Alnico Pro Slash APH-2's
1963 Burns Short Scale Jazz Guitar
Dean Performer Florentine
Bugera 6260
Orange Micro Terror + cab
Digitech Bad Monkey
Zoom G2G
I agree with Retro Gunslinger
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
-Jackson Soloist Std. Professional '93
DiMarzio Evolution (bridge) SD Lil' Screamin Demon (neck)

-B.C. Rich Warlock Special Edition Metal Web

-Peavey Bandit 112