I am new to the world of guitars, but highly experienced as a prog/tech/post metal bassist.

I've researched extensively on gear for guitar since I am taking it up more seriously these days to write & record.

I notice a lot of people say Mesa Recto cabs got muddy low end and fart out. How are you guys EQing? Sounds like noobs all over the place boosting lows and highs (hoping for some chunk), and scooping the heck out of mids.

On my last album our guitarist (drop B) ran his Bass at about 2...
Last edited by cGoEcYk at Aug 23, 2011,
Correcto, just a bunch of idiots scooping their mids. If i'm correct Mesa Recto cab's have V30's in them which are pretty bright speakers but still have some punch in the lower frequencies. Ironically i find marshall cab's have more bass to them (personal experience). I use my friends Marshall 1960a cab with GT75's and it's definitely bassier than a mesa recto cab (did a comparison).
it depends on which amp you have running through it. if its a tighter amp, like a 5150 for example, it sounds damn good. it thickens up the sound and just makes it better in my opinion anyway. but if you are running a recto (ironically enough) or a looser amp like that, yes, it can get loose and flabby.
So...what?

Asking a question or just telling a story?

If telling a story then:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JODwetfioWA
Quote by SimplyBen
That's the advantage of being such a distance from Yianni. I can continue to live my life without fear of stumbling upon his dark terror.

Quote by Toppscore
NakedInTheRain aka "Naked with shriveled pencil sized bacon In The Rain"
Ahh...thought so, well.

Reported.
Quote by SimplyBen
That's the advantage of being such a distance from Yianni. I can continue to live my life without fear of stumbling upon his dark terror.

Quote by Toppscore
I'm just saying... horrible sounding bands abound and cheap metal bassists often have the same problem, thinking that boosting lows makes them sound awesome. All about the mids...