What scales are most commonly used in Hardcore/Metalcore and Djent. Not here to troll or anything, and don't flame me by saying downtuning my guitar is gay or my music sucks. I originally listened to Maiden and all the classic metal, along with people like Jason Becker and Marty Friedman, I'm just getting into newer music lately and I want to start writing some stuff, but I don't know where to start with this new music. Thanks for any tips! Cheers!
Last edited by BlueFuzion101 at Aug 24, 2011,
Major scale
Natural Minor
Harmonic Minor
Melodic Minor
Major Pentatonic
Minor Pentatonic

All with accidentals.
^^The above is a Cryptic Metaphor^^

"To know the truth of history is to realize its ultimate myth and its inevitable ambiguity." Everything is made up and the facts don't matter.

MUSIC THEORY LINK
Quote by rockingamer2
Major scale
Natural Minor
Harmonic Minor
Melodic Minor
Major Pentatonic
Minor Pentatonic

All with accidentals.

Sorry if this is a dumb question, but what's an accidental?
Quote by BlueFuzion101
Sorry if this is a dumb question, but what's an accidental?

It's just a sharp or flat. And they won't necessarily always have accidentals.
Rock on or die

Guitarist 5 years, Had purpose in life 5 years

Quote by angusfan16
My name is NOT Anus Fan!
Quote by UnmagicMushroom

Seriously, a sharp (#) or flat (b) note in music is an accidental.

Not quite. An accidental is a note that is not in the scale.
^^The above is a Cryptic Metaphor^^

"To know the truth of history is to realize its ultimate myth and its inevitable ambiguity." Everything is made up and the facts don't matter.

MUSIC THEORY LINK
Quote by rockingamer2
Not quite. An accidental is a note that is not in the scale.

ah, yes. I was thinking literally in terms of sheet music - seeing a sharp or flat note, but what you said is actually much better.