tl;dr - want good clean and metal tones, will HT-1R do it? Also, can I jam with it? If not, Cube or VT+

EDIT: Guitar is a LTD EC-1000VB

Hi,

I'm trying to decide on my next amp and have narrowed it down to these 3.
If you want to recommend something else I don't want to spend more than £200.

I've heard really good things about both the HT-1R and the Cube 40XL, all I really know about the Vox is that it is a competitor to the Cube and is a valve/SS hybrid.

This is mostly for bedroom playing/practicing and the occasional jam with friends. Wouldn't be jamming in a band situation most likely, I'm a drummer 1st.

I don't really have any desire for a load of effects. I'm not going to get much use out of flanger/phaser/chorus. I'd only really use the reverb. The looper on the Cube seems pretty cool, but I doubt I'd get much use out of that either.

The real question is if I would get the tones I want from the HT1-R. I want something that is diverse enough that I can play John Mayer one day and Metallica the next. So my question is, is this amp able to do that? Obviously it can't be amazing at both ends, but I would like decent. And, is it loud enough to jam with?

If it isn't able to do this, then I figure at my price range something with good modelling would be my best bet, so thinking the Cube/VT+. Would you agree? If so, which one would you recommend out of the two and why?

Thank you
Gear
ESP LTD EC-1000 Vintage Black - Orange Tiny Terror Combo

Tama Superstar Custom Hyperdrive w/ Sabian Cymbals
Last edited by imaan988 at Aug 24, 2011,
Quote by GS LEAD 5
Metal? Vypyr.

What are the cleans like though?
Gear

Quote by imaan988
What are the cleans like though?

Pristine, can get a nice crunch on the tube models.

SS ones are good enough, just dont expect incredibly sensitive dynamics. The tube ones do that all right, but are a touch out of your budget. Unless you can spring a Tube 60 used?

Quote by Wisthekiller