I have been playing for 6 or 7 years now, My techniques are those based around old blues, Electric Blues, and Just Regular Blues, I don't have any input to metal but in any case a metal solo can be a blues solo no matter how hard you try. I influence myself with Hendrix, Vaughn, Page, alot of just Guitarist that are from the 60's and such.

Right now, I feel like the hardest to play out of those lick wise would be Vaughn, But with my point of view, Licks are just licks, and Improvisation is really what sets you up individually on that part, Page seems like the most skilled Riff maker and Ultimate Player, and Hendrix, who i am heavily influenced by both in writing and soloing, doesn't seem to be presenting a challenge for me anymore.

The thing is I know I can present myself with a challenge perhaps by moving on to another artist, but i want to evolve off of my heroes, and go for a more subtle approach to finding my ultimate sound, I don't expect myself to learn Arpeggios and Metal and things like that because I don't expect myself to ever play like that.

any Advice would be much appreciated.
I would look into Joe Satriani. He does have some challenging stuff but he also has softer as well but I think he has something everyone can learn from.
I do agree that Joe, while a fantastic player, has alot of Hair Metal type playing under his belt, and things that turn me off is the high gain low Drive that those guitar tones have.
If you're feeling yourself stuck in a rut with your playing, think about having a few lessons to push you to the next step.

Find a good teacher, and before your lesson make sure he knows exactly where you are with your playing and he/she will be able to create a couple of focused lessons which will help you progress.
Gibson LP Traditional, LP GT, LP Studio, SG Standard x2
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm >TC Polytune > MXR Custom Badass 78 > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
Laney VC30
Marshall TSL602
Jet City JCA22H