Hi all,

I've been playing electric guitar for about 6 years, and before now, never touched an acoustic.

I decided I was missing out on a huge branch of guitar playing, so went out and bought one.
Now I'm not a great electric guitarist, but I can play most things I try.

I have however discovered that I am awful with an acoustic in my hands.
I have the usual maladies of not being to play barre chords too well, and trouble with string bending. Weirdly, I can finger pick better on my electric than the more spaced out strings on an acoustic.
More importantly than that, I can't seem to get a good sound out of what I think is an OK guitar (Epiphone Performer ME).

My question to you good folk, is, will I get better just by keeping at it, should I go back to basics, or just keep plodding away until it gets easier? Any basic songs I can master to help me get up to speed?
Keep practicing.

Your problem is you're learning the wrong way round - it's far easier to switch from acoustic to electric than it is to go from electric to acoustic.

You'll get there eventually, but it will take time.

Practice is always the answer.
Gibson LP Traditional, LP GT, LP Studio, SG Standard x2
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm >TC Polytune > MXR Custom Badass 78 > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
Laney VC30
Marshall TSL602
Jet City JCA22H
My SoundCloud
Last edited by GaryBillington at Aug 26, 2011,
I'm coming up on 2 years of playing now started playing acoustic about a year after electric, Gary's advice is solid and you can never be betrayed by practice. But I found that because my electric and acoustic are so vastly different is size,shape,playability I have adopted a whole different style when switching between them.