Hi everyone!
Can anyone please tell me what are some important metal or rock guitar techniques that I would need to focus on? Recently, my friends and started a band so I really need to start improving my technique. I have been playing guitar for about 3 years now (self-taught) and I've mostly practiced fingerstyle and neglected much else. I understand basic music theory and scales and a few other things too.

Also, could you give me some pointers on rhythm guitar? I really seem to struggle with rhythm so I need to focus on this a bit more as well.

All help appreciated!
Palm-muting, down-picking, alternate picking and picking power chords are the biggest techniques needed for a rhythm player

As far as timing goes, if you've been playing 3 years I'm assuming you can play songs now...you could try playing along with a metronome or slow down the song and play with it till you can speed up and get tight.
as a rhythm player, your right hand is everything. as already mentioned, palm-muting, down-picking and alternate-picking are the big ones.

depending on the style of metal, your left hand might be doing anything from simple power chords to highly complex single note patterns, so you might wanna just make sure your chops are at top notch for that
Best techniques for metal or rock... All of em! hah. To improve technique all you have to do is practice! seems simple but what to practice is the issue. Your situation is a bit vague but if you are looking for rock and metal styles check out rock or metal songs if you cant play it then practice it.

I strongly recommend private lessons, this will help you get more of a direction. If that's out of the budget then you gotta start somewhere head over to youtube and start learning some rock and metal songs you will learn all you need in the songs you will learn. Metallica, Megadeth, iced earth, or whatever your band seeks to sound like.