G'day all,

I recently (2 weeks ago) took up playing again after a break of about 5 years.

I am self taught, and not very good, but I know the basics.

So anyway, I decided to buy a new guitar and went off to the music store, and got thoroughly bamboozled by the huge range. I ended up getting a Takamine D21 in black for $280 Australian Dollars.
I must say I think I rushed into the sale, as I am not happy with it. The action feels way too heavy, and it just doesn't feel right.

I was hoping to upgrade from my Yamaha F310, but I think I may have downgraded to be honest...

I am now rethinking my purchase and my future endeavors with guitar, and I am now prepared to spend much more (around $1000-$1200) for a great acoustic/electric. Can anyone give me a list of good guitars in this price range? I love fingerstyle, and old rock styles.
Gidday,

takamine not a bad guitar,maybe a good set up will help & lighter strings.
My local guy set up a $100 NZ guitar improved it markedly.

Your Aussie Matons & Cole Clarks guitars are pretty nice,have you tried them?
cole clark guitars play like nothing else. to me they sound a little too bright, but i prefer dark sounding guitars. those things feel like an electric, and sound amazing plugged in. go give one of those a shot like the above person said.

besides that, take your time. play everything. get an idea of what you like, and what you dont. play multiple guitars from every brand, and play different guitars that are the same make and model. some are wildly different than others. you will eventually find one you love. until then, keep playing your yamaha. its a pretty good guitar, especially for the money.
About a year Australian guitar did a shoot out of six guitars in the $1000-$2000 price range and the Tanglewood won 3 of the five awards mine cost me $1100 with a Fishman Prefix Plus pick up in it, the action is fantastic sound is brilliant and build quality is flawless, as for Maton which didn't get 1 award