Hey guys.

So this is going to sound quite silly to most of you. I've been playing guitar for about 2 years now and I am quite knowledgible about several different companies, their specs, what music they are best for, and basically what the fuss is about them.

One thing I never took the time to look into is Gibson Les Paul Customs. No doubt probably the most expensive guitars on the markets (competeing with PRS I suppose). The thing is I never really understood why.

Comparing them to standard Gibson Les Paul's, they just look a lot shinier and sleeker and have different design fretboard inlays. I know these guitars are one of those guitars that "last a lifetime" so I know I am getting good quality. I just want to know what I'm paying the extra 2 grand for.

I guess this doesn't only reply for Les Pauls. SG's and ES series too. Can someone explain this to me? If you think it's a noob thing to ask, well you're right, but please just answer instead of trolling :P
Last edited by bluntorc at Aug 28, 2011,
Uhh.. They're made of really high quality wood, unlike the lower case Gibson models are made of little lower quality woods.

Anyway, I've played nearly for like 1½ years, got myself a Gibson LP Studio last month, never regretted the purchase. This guitar plays really nice, the neck feels it's nearly the "perfect fit" even though some think it's far too thick.

And musically for the best.. There isn't really such a guitar or at least I don't believe it's so. I can play death metal as well with my Gibson as with a Jackson RR24 or other extreme "metal" guitar. Just to say an example, Gibson Flying V is used in death metal and blues.
Gear pics

Quote by Cathbard
Bugera cloning Blackstar is a scandal cloaked in a tragedy making love to a nightmare.

Last edited by Sakke at Aug 28, 2011,