Page 1 of 3
Word of warning: this will probably be the slowest build you ever witness. Want to get an idea of how slow? Look at my sig. It's said that for months now.

EDIT: Told you it'd be slow. First post in nine months on page 3.

-------

As a poor college student I often find myself in terrible predicaments. Those predicaments usually involve me wanting shiny things. This can typically be fixed with things like eBay and Craigslist, but unfortunately for me it seems that PRS's MIA guitars retain their value exceptionally well. Next best solution? Do it myself. Create my own shiny thing.

Specs:

Body, Neck, and Dimensions
-Custom 24 based body style, not an exact replica however
-Honduran mahogany back, flame maple top
-Thin-bodied (~1 3/4" before carving and finish sanding)
-5-piece neck from Soulmate Guitars: Wenge/flame maple/wenge/fm/wenge
-Ebony fretboard, jumbo frets, abalone inlays
-25" scale length

Hardware
-GFS Sperzel-style locking tuners
-Hipshot Modern Hardtail bridge.
-Graphtech nut
-Some cheap chrome strap buttons
-Some cheap chrome string ferrules
-Cream pickup rings

Electronics - PRS DGT layout. Two volumes or bust!
-Rock Monkey Silverback bridge pickup
-Undecided neck pickup. Probably a Rock Monkey Blackback.
-Bourns Model 95 500k Audio Taper pots x 2 (volumes)
-CTS 500k Push/Pull Linear Taper x1 (tone)
-If push/pull doesn't fit then CTS 500k linear pot + mini toggle switch
-Switchcraft 3-way Toggle
-Switchcraft Mono output jack

Pics to follow.
Last edited by Seref at Jun 3, 2012,
Like all guitars, this one starts it's life as a humble board of dead tree. Honduran Mahogany net 1", not 4/4. To be sawn in half, jointed, and glued to form a 2-piece body.

Unfortunately I failed to take any pictures of the flame maple top before sawing/gluing/shaping, so you'll have to use your imaginations.

Using this:

With the wood plus this:

And this:

And one of these:

We get this: