Hey,

I'm new to this section, so I don't know if the question is in the right place or not. If not, feel free to move.

Question is simple: When you ought to change your strings? I mean this pure theoretically. Just so I have a direction of how long (1 year, 3 years, 10 years?).

I searched this section for about 8 or 9 pages for an answer, but found nothing related or didn't search thorough enough..

Thanks in advance!
lalala
When you are no longer satisfied with the tone of the strings.

However, I personally love the sound of need-to-be-changed strings on an acoustic, so I keep them on for a long time. Usually, people change them somewhere between every 2-3 weeks.
Quote by EndTheRapture51
who pays five hundred fucking dollars for a burger
Every couple of weeks for me, depends how much you play, they lose their tone after a while and the intonation is shot too.
Depends on how often you play. Every month, every three months, every six months... maybe once a year, like, if you barely play at all.
When you feel you need to. Quite a few people change them every week/month. Personally I don't change them until they start to rust.. which has been about 3 years. They feel nicer when changed though and will sound better. It depends on how much you can compromise on sound/feel/tone/cost.
There's a good chance that what I've written above is useless and if you take any of the advice it's your own fault.
I think I'll change them. Been almost 3 years and they are indeed starting to rust.
Thanks for the quick answers!
lalala
I usually change strings when one string breaks then i change all of them which is usually around 2-3 months. Unless the strings breaks within 2 weeks then i just change the 1 string.
JUST ANOTHER ANNOYING BIG STATUS
Quote by espal
Depends on how often you play. Every month, every three months, every six months... maybe once a year, like, if you barely play at all.