Page 1 of 2
I was just wondering how long it took before you considered yourself a good player by your own standards. Ive been playing for about 15 months now and i would just about class myself as a good players.

Obviously your standards change over time. The second i listened to paul gilbert i went from being a decent player to a shoddy one. Also in 10 years i will probably look back at my playing now and laugh that i thought i was good.
I consider myself not bad, I'll consider myself to be good in about 5 years perhaps.
Been playing 7-8 years. I still think I suck pretty hard but I'm better than I was which is, really, the important part.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
Its all relative -
I used to think i was good (playing 6 years now) but i've recently taken myself back to square one. I thought that because i could play some nice licks, do some tapping, had nice vibrato and know enough to do some decent lead that i was good. But i've tried to do some blues stuff lately and decided i suck, so i've just printed off some blues shapes, some maj7/min7 arpeggio shapes, and putting on the old blues stuff to learn all over again.

But most people i jam with say im a good player. But if i went and played with my guitar teacher, he'd piss all over me.

I think the moment you're good is when you can put any record on, and fit nicely into the song with you're own playing - regardless of what genre.
Always waiting for that bit of inspiration.
Last edited by W4T3V3R at Aug 30, 2011,
I consider myself good, but not as in "I have chops", but as in "can play well enough to please an audience". I will second User_name336's post though. It's not really something to generalize as it is how good you are compared to how good you used to be (at least, to me it is).