hello, i've been playing guitar for about 8 years now? and im self taught so i have no idea how i would go about teaching someone.

what i've been asked to do is start giving my 9 year old cousin guitar lessons just to get him started, hes got the bog standard 3/4 size classical guitar but as im self taught im not really aware of what needs to be taught? its hard to explain.

So if there is any guitar teachers on this forum, or anyone who is willing to help it will be much appreciated or even any other members.

what do i need?
what do i teach him?

many thanks!
When I was first taught, I used notation playing basic melodies and learnt scales (obviously without knowing how to apply them) as well as open chords
Do a mix of all, kids are hard to teach though, but it's worth it
I'm generally of the opinion that if you don't know what or how to teach something to a beginner then you probably shouldn't be trying to do so.

That being said, basic open chords are basically square one, start with those and find some simple songs that use only those so you can quickly get the kid making actual music and sounds that he recognises. Nothing kills enthusiasm like being bogged down by crappy exercises that don't sound like anything you know.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
get a beginners book part one and two and work from there.
Quote by JD Close
Piano dick had some good parts, but should have said "As the business man slowly gets boned", would have accented the whole dick feeling of the album
I've had to do this recently, but not to a young kid. As you're teaching a kid I'd recommend explaining what all the different parts of a guitar are. Maybe give him a labelled diagram or something.