hey UG, Im 21 years old been playing since feb 2010 turned 20 like 2months after i started playing guitar , anyway i been playing for a year and a half now and i have a big question seeing as how alot of good players that inspire me

anyway my question now is Can practicing alot help the odds of someone like me be just as good as someone who played since they were little?

(had to edited this post ..... the reason i made this thread was cuz i felt the other day i stumbled on a brick wall mentally with my guitar playing and just started feelng a lil doupful(something that can happen when ppl are first starting out) n some ppl came on here reading this getting the wrong message (apparently i cant vent personal thoughts that im temporarily having without being judged the wrong way )lol

and im completely over that wall now btw
"its not the destination.... so much as the journey" one once said
Last edited by Marqway at Sep 1, 2011,
the reason people who play from a young age are good is because they have had more time to practice, it doesn't matter that they pleyed 5 hours a week between 12 and 20 if you start at 16 and do 10 hours a week. (if you use the same practice routine, have similar styles and so)
Judging from your posts, you seem to be too preoccupied with where you stand compared to others. Play for you and be happy with your progress.

I started guitar right around my nineteenth birthday. After discovering music was my passion, I got upset that I didn't start sooner, thereby having a huge disadvantage compared to others. Then I played more, enjoyed myself and got over it. If you're in it for what other people think or how good you are compared to others, time to re-evaluate your goals and why you even bothered stepping foot inside the art world.

Not to be blunt--that's AeolianWolf's job--but it's time to get over it and enjoy yourself.
Nothing that is worthwhile in life will ever come easy.
Here's my honest answer to you sir.