For starters, I'm fairly new to music theory, but I've been put in an intensive course that's a bit ahead of what I know and I'm trying to catch up. I'm a bit shaky on relative and parallel major/minor scales, but primarily parallel.

Now, I understand that a parallel is a major scale or minor scale with the same tonic, but a different scale. I also understand that, in order to identify where the flat or sharp lies, you must count three diatonic half steps up from the tonic. i.e. G goes to Bb. I understand that identifies the relative scale (Bb) but, is there more I have to do to or is it just memorization of the different key signatures? I apologize if I worded this poorly. I'd appreciate any help. Thank you!
G -> Bb determines the relative major of G minor. Whereas the relative minor of G major would be three half-steps down from G, which is E, so E minor.

Learn to derive major and minor scales from their interval pattern. Tonic - M2 - M3 - P4, etc. That way, you'll always have the format. From there, it's just practice deriving every scale as often as possible until you get it.
Nothing that is worthwhile in life will ever come easy.
Well u pretty much got Bb major is the same scale as G melodic minor. its that simple the rest is just memorizing the paterns with your fingers and being able to move them around the neck. I started with pentatonics and then just added in the added notes to the major or minor scale.. I personally think its easier to memorize that way.
Quote by Musicrules,man
Well u pretty much got Bb major is the same scale as G melodic minor.\

Wrong form of the minor there. Bb and G natural minor are the same. It is true that G melodic minor can as well, but that's only when it's descending. When it ascends the 6th and 7th degrees are raised.

G melodic minor ascending - G A Bb C D E F# G

Edit: I see you caught that. Disregard the above then

OP, you've got the right idea. The relative is a little sketchy however.