So I've been playing guitar for a few years off and on, and mostly play tabs of other people's songs. Eventually I'd like to be able to play in a band, most likely as rhythm guitar to start out and was curious what areas I'd need to brush up on first for that.

Things I know: Major scale, Pentatonic scale, about 4-5 chords (basic ones), and I know some covers that I learned from tabs such as: Metallica - Master of puppets (not the solo though), Some Trivium tabs (not the solos though), some Killswitch engage (riffs mostly), Tool (riffs mostly), and a few other random riffs. I don't really know any full songs though as I get stuck in certain places and don't really have a teacher to help me get through them. I know a lot of theory basics as I've read through the Crusade column on this site which goes into intervals, scales, chord formations, being able to create scales from chords, and matching your keys, etc. The problem is it's all theory that I haven't really applied to anything.

To be able to start playing in a band and not feel like a complete noob, I feel like I need to brush up on my chords and also just general fretboard knowledge such as the CAGED system and learning chords in different locations on the fret board. I'm pretty bad at improvising also.

What do you guys think, is it best to start just learning CAGED, chords, and different locations on the board? I mean if I was to get into a band, I'd just be playing other peoples songs anyway to start as it would be an already established band that just lost a member. I'm also pretty bad with a metronome which I know is not a good thing. I tend to lose focus easily so playing boring excersizes usually isn't appealing to me, hence why I skipped chords and jumped right into learning tabs of the songs I like.
Theory.

Hone your ear, learn chord construction, learn tension/resolution, understand your major/minor scales and learn notes and intervals rather than just numbers and shapes.