Yes, probably common, but everyone has different preferences.

Alright, so I'm a bassist by nature and I'm learning acoustic guitar because I plan on starting an acoustic-country solo project.

I looking for a nice $200-300, acoustic/electric that has a deep, mellow tone with mellow highs and good mids. I don't really want to have the highs ringing, i want them to just flow, and I hate the sounds of tinny guitars. I've heard mahogany would probably be the best bet.

In short, I want a good guitar that has a deep, mellow, easy tone without the ringing, tinny highs of something like a Taylor.

Thanks.
Also, I really would like for it to NOT have a cutout.

I've looked at a Washburn WD-10SCE and thought it sounded nice for the price. Opinions?
Here's the only accoustic country guitar for me:

It's a Guild--that and it sounds great live, even with a broken string, are all I know about it.
Last edited by jetwash69 at Sep 1, 2011,
MY SUGGESTION
Brand:Fender
Model:Squier
Price:150$ (from official store)
Experience:Great,sounds same for 3 years
How often have we chased the dream of progress, only to see that dream perverted?
More often than not, haven't the machines we built to improve life shattered the lives of millions?
And now we want to turn that dream on ourselves, to fundamentally improve who we are.
Experience has shown me how dangerous that can be.
This is a pretty common questions and all the answers are the same .

Most people here are biased because of the guitar they play - I play a Crafter and love it, so I would recommend one to you. Some people may not be biased and will post a link of all guitars in that price range fitting your wants. This can be very helpful, but whatever you do, don't buy one online without playing it first!